Have Faith. Trust God. Stop Worrying.

 

I have spent a lot of time worrying. I worry about work, schedules, what college I want to go to, friendships, responsibilities, family, finances, and other people’s worries. I know a lot of people struggle with the same thing. And we need to stop.

Why?

Worry does not solve problems.

That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life—whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing? Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are? Can all your worries add a single moment to your life?

And why worry about your clothing? Look at the lilies of the field and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith?

So don’t worry about these things, saying, ‘What will we eat? What will we drink? What will we wear?’ These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.

So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today. (Matthew 6:25-34)

 

Worry is forbidden.

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:6-7)

 

Worrying is a sin.

But he who doubts is condemned if he eats, because his eating is not from faith; and whatever is not from faith is sin. (Romans 14:23, NASB)

 

And the Bible teaches that we should not worry. Do we always do this?

Nope.

 

Here are three reasons not to worry:

1. Worrying Accomplishes Absolutely Nothing.

2. Worrying is the Opposite of Trusting God.

3. Worrying Puts Your Focus in the Wrong Direction.

 

I have to remind myself this very often.

But I like to make excuses for myself sometimes.

“I’m not worried, I’m just concerned. That’s why I’m still talking about it and now I’m going crazy. But I’m not worried. I’m not hearing anything from God, but I’m not going to stop doing things on my own. Oh, and I’ve been forgetting to pray and stopped reading my bible for the past few days, yeah, it’s all good, I’m not worried.”

Nope, nope.

 

“Concern” means to “have an interest in, give attention to, be engaged by a situation, as a matter of consideration or responsibility”

“Worry” is a disquieted uneasiness of mind, an anxious apprehension concerning an impending or anticipated situation; fretting about a foreboding misfortune or failure.

 

Concern starts to become worry when we assume a responsibility is ours, when it’s actually not. It’s failing to realize that God is in control and so much bigger than any situation we are in. God knows and cares. There’s purpose in every situation.

I am a very planned and organized person. God made me that way, but it’s horrible sometimes. If you asked me two years ago what my future would be like, I thought I already knew. I had my career and whole life planned by the time I was 15. Then last summer God started to lead me in a different direction. A completely different direction.

And I freaked out.

This direction required me to step out of my comfort zone and to have faith.

I thought I was in control of my life. I learned that I’m not.

And then it all started to make sense. God’s plan is so much better than mine. Why worry when it doesn’t change anything?

What are you worried about?

“Will I ever find a job?”

“Will my family ever be together again?”

“Will he ever ask me out?”

“Am I going to get into college?”

“How am I going to buy a car?”

“I’m probably going to be single forever.”

“I’m living in sin, but I don’t want to change yet.”

 

Stop. Please stop.

Constant worrying is almost like torture.

It’s binding and paralyzing.

It’s distracting.

It’s separates you from God.

It keeps the focus on you when it should be on God.

It’s selfish.

 

Listen to God. Change the things in your life that needs to be changed.

“Why does bad stuff happen to me? Why me? Why does God do this to me?..

..me, me, me.”

See what I mean?

“Christians who worry believe God can redeem them, break the shackles of Satan, take them from hell to heaven, put them into His kingdom, and give them eternal life, but just don’t think He can get them through the next couple of days. That is pretty ridiculous, isn’t it? That we can believe God for the greater gift and then stumble and not believe Him for the lesser one reveals an embarrassing lack of faith.” -John MacArthur

Have Faith, trust God.

Don’t worry about the wicked
or envy those who do wrong.
For like grass, they soon fade away.
Like spring flowers, they soon wither.

Trust in the Lord and do good.
Then you will live safely in the land and prosper.
Take delight in the Lord,
and he will give you your heart’s desires.

Commit everything you do to the Lord.
Trust him, and he will help you.
He will make your innocence radiate like the dawn,
and the justice of your cause will shine like the noonday sun.

Be still in the presence of the Lord,
and wait patiently for him to act.
Don’t worry about evil people who prosper
or fret about their wicked schemes.
(Psalm 37:1-7)

Why am I discouraged?
Why is my heart so sad?
I will put my hope in God!
I will praise him again—
my Savior and my God!
(Psalm 42:11)

Give your burdens to the Lord,
and he will take care of you.
He will not permit the godly to slip and fall.
(Psalm 55:22)

 

Look to God in every situation. EVERY SITUATION.

Not only the ones you want.

But in everything, look to Him.

Prayer. Lots of prayer.

This needs to be our response.

 

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. (Philippians 4:6)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

